Preliminary Meeting, February 2nd, 1883.

C. G. KNOTT, Esq., D.Sc., F.R.S.E., in the Chair.

At this meeting it was agreed to institute a Society to be called "The Edinburgh Mathematical Society."

The following Office-Bearers were elected :---

President-Mr JOHN S. MACKAY, M.A., F.R.S.E.

Vice-President-Mr Alexander Macfarlane, M.A., D.Sc., F.R.S.E.

Secretary and Treasurer-Mr CARGILL G. KNOTT, D.Sc., F.R.S.E.

Committee.

Messrs R. E. Allardice, M.A.; A. J. G. BARCLAY, M.A.; A. Y. FRASER, M.A.; W. J. MACDONALD, M.A.

The Committee were instructed to draw up a constitution for the Society, and to submit the same at the first ordinary meeting.

First Meeting, March 12th, 1883.

JOHN S. MACKAY, Esq., M.A., F.R.S.E., President, in the Chair.

Professor CHRYSTAL, University of Edinburgh, gave an introductory address on "Present Fields of Mathematical Research."

Thereafter, the Society proceeded to the discussion of the draft constitution submitted by the Committee.