DIVISION IX: OPTICAL AND INFRARED TECHNIQUES

(TECHNIQUES OPTIQUES et INFRAROUGES)

PRESIDENT: Arlo U. Landolt

BOARD: Michel Dennefeldt, John B. Hearnshaw, Birgitta Nordstrom, Ian

S. McLean, Christiaan Sterken, Ding-qiang Su, Andrei Tokovinin

Commission 9: Instrumentation and Techniques

Commission 25: Stellar Photometry and Polarimetry

Commission 30: Radial Velocities

Working Group on Optical/IR Interfermetry

1. Introduction

Division IX covers instrumentation, photometric and polarimetric techniques at optical and infrared wavelengths and radial velocity determinations.

2. Division IX Business Meeting at the General Assembly in Sydney

A roll call was not taken; however, on the order of twenty individuals attended the Division IX Business meeting, including, C. Cesarsky, M. Dennefeldt, R. Ekers, J. Hearnshaw, P. R. Lawson, B. Nordstrom, M. R. Redfern, C. Scarfe, C. Sterken, A. Landolt, D.-Q. Su, and A. Tokovinin.

The Working Groups supported by the Division were discussed. Tokovinin reported that the new Organizing Committee for Commission 30 would re-evaluate Commission 30's Working Groups in the coming months. Lawson stated that the Division's Working Group on Optical and Infrared Interferometry was well established [links to various vintages of the Working Group's reports may be found on the internet most easily via, for example, Googlel. Hearnshaw said that the Division 30 Working Group's efforts would continue irregardless of whether a named group was retained. Su voiced support for the continuation of Commission 9's Working Groups on Sky Surveys and on Detectors. He reiterated his view that a Working Group on Adaptive Optics was needed. Dennefeldt supported Su's contention. Ekers thought that the IAU should have a larger role in the large telescope arena, and that an appropriate Working Group within Division IX should be formed. Dennefeldt suggested supporting a symposium which reviewed the science which could be accomplished at large telescopes. Such content would differ from large telescope symposia hosted by the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE), for instance. Cesarsky agreed; the IEEE was for engineering, the IAU more for the science which could be done. Sterken offered that the Division perhaps should contain Working Groups only. Tokovinin and Ekers wondered about a combination of interferometry and adaptive optics into, perhaps, a commission. Norstrom thought that the redefinition of the Division's structure could be carried out by the Division's new Organizing Committee. Scarfe noted that a Commission is composed of a group of astronomers with common interests, whereas a Working Group has a specific task to accomplish. Ekers liked the idea of a Commission on High Resolution, which

would include adaptive optics. Cesarsky returned to the idea that the new Organizing Committee would be an appropriate forum in which Division restructuring could be undertaken. There was a feeling that a topic could start as a Working Group, which then could be promoted to the level of a Commission, if the work to be done demanded an elevation in status.

The individuals in attendance then turned to the membership of Division IX's Organizing Committee for the interval 2003-2006. Landolt had indicated on the agenda a possible Organizing Committee whose members would come from Division IX's current and immediate past Commission Presidents and Vice-Presidents.

After some discussion, individuals present agreed that the Organizing Commission for Division IX for the triennium 2003-2006 would include the Division President, the Division Vice-President, the three Commission Presidents, the three Commission Vice-Presidents, the immediate past Division President, and three still to be identified individuals in new areas of interest to the Division. The understanding was that the latter three individuals would be identified in the near future, following the conclusion of the General Assembly.

As had been requested, names for President and Vice-President of Division IX for the triennium 2003-2006 had been submitted some months prior to the General Assembly. After some discussion, Christiaan Sterken and John Hearnshaw, were affirmed as President and Vice-President, respectively, of Division IX.

A. U. Landolt President of the Division