The Department of Statistics & Actuarial Science of the University of the Aegean is pleased to host the 3rd Conference in Actuarial Science and Finance, to be held on Samos, on September 2-5, 2004.

This event is jointly organized with the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (Department of Applied Economics and Department of Mathematics), the Université Catholique de Louvain (Institute of Statistics and Actuarial research group) and the University of Copenhagen (Laboratory of Actuarial Mathematics).

The Conference allows the presentation of the latest works in the area of actuarial science and finance. It is open to all persons interested in actuarial science and finance, be they from universities, insurance companies, banks, consulting firms or regulatory authorities. The conference aims to facilitate the contact and the communication between the practicians and the researchers.

The topics of the sections include:

- Extremes and Large Deviations in Actuarial Science Chair J. Teugels
- Non-life Insurance Chair R. Verrall
- Advances in Incomplete Markets Chair Th. Zariphopoulou
- Modelling Dependence in Actuarial Science Chair Th. Mikosch
- Risk and Control Chair S. Asmussen
- Life, Pension and Health Insurance Chair H. Gerber

There will be four short courses. Two before the conference: 30th of August - 1st of September

- Stochastic Claims Reserving, by R.J. Verrall
- Stochastic Control Applied to Actuarial Problems, by H. Schmidli

and the other two after the conference: 6th September - 8th September

- Risk Measures and Optimal Portfolio Selection (with applications to elliptical distributions), by J. Dhaene and E. Valdez
- Advanced Statistical Methods for Insurance, by M. Denuit

Postgraduate students and young reseachers are specially welcome.

Scientific Committee:

Asmussen Soeren Denuit Michel Foss Serguei Frangos Nicos Gerber Hans Goovaerts Marc Guillen Montserrat Konstantinides Dimitrios Makov Udi Marceau Etienne Mikosch Thomas Ng Kai Papaioanou Takis (Chair) Tessaromatis Nicos Teugels Jef Verrall Richard Willder Mark Zariphopoulou Thaleia

Organizing Committee:

Dhaene Jan Frangos Nicos (Chair) Konstantinides Dimitrios Mikosch Thomas Purcaru Oana Schmidli Hanspeter Teugels Jef Walhin Jean-Francois

Local Committee:

Chatzispyros Spyridon Giannakopoylos Athanasios Katsis Athanasios Konstantinides Dimitrios (Chair) Milionis Alexandros Nakas Christos Poufinas Thomas

For further information, please refer to http://www.stat.ucl.ac.be/Samos2004/