Meet the 2024-2025 Congressional Fellows

ALEJANDRA SAMPSON | PROGRAM ASSOCIATE, CONGRESSIONAL FELLOWSHIP PROGRAM & GOVERNANCE

he American Political Science Association is pleased to welcome the Class of 2024-2025 to its prestigious Congressional Fellowship Program (CFP). Since 1953, this selective, nonpartisan program has brought together political scientists, journalists, federal employees, and other professionals to gain firsthand experience on Capitol Hill through placements on congressional staff. The nine-month fellowship begins each November with an intensive orientation led by experts, followed by tailored placements and ongoing seminars. Through this unique opportunity, the program enhances public understanding of policymaking and improves the quality of scholarship, teaching, and reporting on American national politics.

Welcome fellows!

Political Scientist Fellows



CONGRESSIONAL FELLOWSHIP

Shane Day, PhD Associate Professor, Portland State University



Samuel (Sam) Erkiletian, PhD University College London



Kristen Essel, PhD Brown University



Rosa C. Krewson, PhD Adjunct Faculty at American University and New York University







Robert Oldham, PhD Princeton University

Journalist Fellows





Federal Executive Fellows

Samantha Fein—Interagency Fellow Christopher Fortson—Interagency Fellow Andrew Pelkey—Interagency Fellow

The Asia Foundation Fellow

Kawisara Sukumolchan—Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Thailand

Sasakawa Peace Foundation Fellow

Kenta Fukao—Assistant Director, Secretariat of the House of Representatives Yuki Tsujimura, PhD—University of Tokyo

Spirit Mountain Community Fund/ Mark O. Hatfield Fellow

Kwani-Fawn Marcellay-Reed College

Health & Aging Policy Fellows

Kealohaku'ualohaku'upoki'i (Poki'i) Balaz, DNP, EMBA– Director of Strategic Initiatives, Center for Innovation, Geriatric Nurse Practitioner, Kōkua Kalihi Valley Health Center

Carey Candrian, *PhD*—Associate Professor and Director of LGBTQ+ Research and Community Engagement, Division of General Internal Medicine, University of Colorado School of Medicine, VP, Lesbian Health Fund

Rebecca S. Crow, DO–Director of Geriatrics, White River Junction VA Medical Center, Assistant Professor of Medicine, Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth

Darlene J. Curley, EdD, MS—Chair, Utah Governor's Commission on Aging, Advisor, Center for Health Policy, Columbia University School of Nursing

Carol Dufresne, *MDiv*—Staff Chaplain, Family Support Program, Women's Clinic Hampton Veterans Affairs Healthcare System

Tracy Fasolino, *PhD*, *FNP-BC*, *ACHPN*—Professor and Distinguished Palliative Care Leader, Clemson University School of Nursing

Farhana Ferdous, *PhD*—Associate Professor, Department of Architecture, Howard University

Lin (Helen) Jiang, PhD, MSSc—Associate Professor, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley School of Social Work

Clifford Y. Ko, MD, MS, MSHS, FACS, FASCRS—Director, Division of Research and Optimal Patient Care, American College of Surgeons, Professor of Surgery and Health Services, David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA School of Public Health Deborah Kaye, MD, MS—Assistant Professor, Department of Urology, Division of Urologic Oncology at Duke University Julie Lowenthal, MSW, MPH—Caregiver Program Development and Advocacy Specialist, Area Agency on Aging 1-B Samsun Naher, PhD, MA—Aging and Disability Policy Research Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, University of Washington School of Medicine

Priti Patel, *MD*, *MPH*—Senior Advisor for Long COVID, US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Adjunct Assistant Professor, Emory University School of Medicine, CAPT, US Public Health Service

Caroline Sloan, MD, MPH—Assistant Professor of Medicine, Duke University

Ilana Stol, MD–Palliative Care Physician, Ralph H. Johnson VA Medical Center, Geriatrics and Extended Care, Affiliate Assistant Professor of Medicine and Psychiatry, Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC)

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Fellows

Nicolle L. Arthun, BSN, RN, MSN, CNM, FACNM—Founder, Changing Woman Initiative, Albuquerque, New Mexico Shamie Das, MD, MBA, MPH—Assistant Professor, Depart-

ment of Emergency Medicine, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta

A. Rani Elwy, *PhD*—Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior, Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University, Providence, RI; Research Career Scientist, Center for Healthcare Organization and Implementation Research, VA; Bedford Healthcare System, Bedford, Massachusetts **Tracey L. Henry**, *MD*, *MPH*, *MS*—Associate Professor of Medicine, Division of General Internal Medicine, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta

Tonya Moore, *PhD*, *RN*—Founder and Chief Executive Officer, MooreNOW, LLC, Brandon, Mississippi

Sujith Ramachandran, *PhD*—Associate Professor of Pharmacy Administration, University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy, University

Michael T. Schmeltz, *DrPH*, *MS*—Assistant Professor, Department of Public Health, California State University, East Bay, Hayward