European Constitutional Law Review

2023 VOLUME 19 ISSUE I

Contributions by

Mark Tushnet, Julian Scholtes, Antonio-Martín Porras-Gómez, Ignatius Yordan Nugraha, Florian Meinel, Roger Masterman, Aleksandra Kustra-Rogatka, Aleksandra Gliszczyńska-Grabias & Wojciech Sadurski

Subjects

RULE OF LAW BACKSLIDING: difficulties around a non-regression principle with regard to Article 2 TEU values; a deeper look into the facade rhetoric of constitutionalism in Poland; and a critical note on case K 3/21 of the Polish Constitutional Tribunal; THE RECOVERY PLAN FOR EUROPE: exploring its implications for EU constitutional evolution; CONSTITUTIONAL MIGRATION: the UK Human Rights Act as a catalyst; DE-POLITICISED GOVERNMENT: a critique of the Bundesverfassungsgericht's view of the executive; DIFFERENTIAL TREATMENT AND NATIONAL IDENTITY: a case note on ECtHR *Savickis and Others* v *Latvia*; BOOK REVIEW: reflections on an edited volume about majority rule and democracy

Manzehen werden Bril



CAMBRIDGE UNIVERSITY PRESS *EuConst* 2023/1

BOARD OF EDITORS

Leonard F.M. Besselink, co-editor-in-chief University of Amsterdam

Monica Claes, co-editor-in-chief Maastricht University

Jan-Herman Reestman, co-editor-in-chief University of Amsterdam

W.T. Eijsbouts University of Amsterdam

John W. Sap Open Universiteit and VU Amsterdam

Thomas Beukers Ministry of Foreign Affairs, The Hague

Jan Komárek University of Copenhagen

Gerhard van der Schyff University of Tilburg

Marta Cartabia Professor of constitutional law, Bocconi University, Milan

Paul Craig Emeritus Professor of English law, St. John's College, Oxford

Gráinne de Búrca Professor of law, New York University School of Law

Bruno De Witte Professor emeritus of European Union law, Maastricht University, and part-time professor, European University Institute, Florence

Spyridon Flogaitis Professor of administrative law, University of Athens

Jörg Gerkrath Professor of European law, University of Luxembourg

P.J.G. Kapteyn Former judge at the Court of Justice

Rick Lawson Professor of European law, Leiden University

Koen Lenaerts President of the Court of Justice and Professor of European law, KU Leuven

Ingolf Pernice Emeritus Professor of public law and of international and European law, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin *Mattias Wendel* Universität Leipzig

Aida Torres Pérez Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona

François-Xavier Millet Université des Antilles, France

Thomas A.J.A. Vandamme University of Amsterdam

Matteo Bonelli Maastricht University

Michał Krajewski Inquiries Officer, European Ombudsman

Nik de Boer University of Amsterdam

Bastian Michel, managing editor University of Amsterdam

BOARD OF ADVISERS

Jit Peters Professor emeritus of public law, University of Amsterdam

Lucas Prakke Professor emeritus of comparative constitutional law, University of Amsterdam

Sacha Prechal Judge at the Court of Justice and Professor of European law, Utrecht University

Dominique Rousseau Professor of public law, Université Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne

Wojciech Sadurski Professor in jurisprudence, University of Sydney and professor extraordinarius, University of Warsaw

András Sajó University Professor, Central European University, Budapest

Mirosław Wyrzykowski Professor emeritus of constitutional law, University of Warsaw

Peter G. Xuereb Judge at the Court of Justice and Professor of European and comparative law, University of Malta

Jiří Zemánek Judge at the Czech Constitutional Court and Professor of European Union law, Charles University, Prague